Weapons-related offenses are strictly enforced in Delaware. A conviction is possible for concealing a knife or other weapon-capable item. If you have a criminal record, you might go to jail. The following are possible weapon charges in Delaware.
1. Possessing a Hidden Deadly Weapon
Carrying a concealed deadly weapon is prohibited in Delaware. It is lawful to carry a deadly weapon openly. The crime of carrying a concealed deadly weapon falls under class G. The maximum term allowed by the sentencing guidelines is 12 months in prison.
If a firearm is used as a deadly weapon, the offense is upgraded to a class D felony, carrying a maximum two-year prison sentence for a first conviction. It becomes a class F non-violent felony if the crime occurs in a secure school or leisure area.
Concealing a Dangerous Instrument
In Delaware, it’s against the law to carry a deadly object covertly. The Delaware Criminal Code, Section 1443, contains a detailed definition of this offense. Taking a hammer out from under your coat and beating someone with it is an example of carrying a concealed dangerous instrument. A Class A misdemeanor is carrying a concealed dangerous weapon. The maximum punishment for this crime is a year in prison and a fine of up to $2300. The sentence guidelines provide for probation lasting up to a year.
2. Owning a Deadly Weapon at the Time a Felony Is Committed
It is a class B felony to have a gun or a knife in your possession while committing a crime. 2–5 years in prison is the typical penalty for this crime. Neither the sentence nor the underlying felony may be carried out simultaneously. Thus, the penalty for this offense won’t begin until the felony sentence has been served.
3. Firearm possession while committing a felony
In Delaware, a person commits a class B felony if found possessing a firearm while committing a crime. A three-year prison sentence is required for this felony. A mandatory five-year jail sentence is imposed if this is the conviction’s third felony. There won’t be any suitable time credit or suspension associated with whatever punishment is given. The possibility of reverse admissibility applies to juveniles under the age of 15.
4. Dealing Illegally with a Dangerous Weapon
Dealing with a deadly weapon illegally is a crime in Delaware. The suggested punishment would be acceptable. The suggested penalty for a class G felony is up to six months in prison. The suggested penalty for a class E felony is up to 15 months in prison.
In conclusion, a minimum of 180 days of school suspension will be imposed on you if you are a minor and are found guilty of this crime.